Skills Assessment


Skills assessments are issued by relevant skills assessing authorities. A skills assessing authority is an organisation that checks that your skills meet the standards they set to work in a relevant occupation.

The combined list of eligible skilled occupations sets out all relevant occupations under 4 occupation lists. Most occupations in each list have their own skills assessing authority. Department of Home Affairs can only accept a skills assessment issued by the relevant assessing authority. Each assessing authority has its own assessment procedures, time frames and charges. Obtaining a suitable skills assessment is mandatory for some visa subclasses (and streams) and may be requested for others.


We can help you with Skills Assessment from the following Skills Assessment Authorities

AACA – Architects Accreditation Council of Australia

AASW – Australian Association of Social Workers Limited

ACPSEM – Australasian College of Physical Scientists and Engineers in Medicine

ACS – Australian Computer Society Incorporated

ACWA – Australian Community Workers Association Inc

ADC – Australian Dental Council Limited

AIM – Australian Institute of Management

AIMS – Australian Institute of Medical Scientists

AIQS – The Australian Institute of Quantity Surveyors

AITSL – Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership Limited

AMSA – Australian Maritime Safety Authority

ANMAC – Australian Nursing & Midwifery Accreditation Council Limited

ANZPAC – Australian and New Zealand Podiatry Accreditation Council Limited

ANZSNM – Australian and New Zealand Society of Nuclear Medicine

AOAC – Australasian Osteopathic Accreditation Council Limited

AOPA – The Australian Orthotic Prosthetic Association Limited

APC – Australian Physiotherapy Council Limited

APharmC – Australian Pharmacy Council Ltd

APS – The Australian Psychological Society Limited

ASMIRT – Australian Society of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy

AVBC – Australasian Veterinary Boards Council Incorporated

CAANZ – Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand

CASA – Civil Aviation Safety Authority

CCEA – Council on Chiropractic Education Australasia Limited

CPAA – CPA Australia Ltd

DAA – Dietitians Association of Australia

EA – The Institution of Engineers Australia

IPA – Institute of Public Accountants Ltd

MedBA – Medical Board of Australia

NAATI – National Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters Ltd

OCANZ – Optometry Council of Australia and New Zealand Limited

OTC – Occupational Therapy Council of Australia Ltd

SPA – The Speech Pathology Association of Australia Limited

SSSI – Surveying and Spatial Sciences Institute Limited

TRA – Trades Recognition Australia

VETASSESS – Vocational Education and Training Assessment Services